# MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR STUDY SESSION

# **OPENING OF MEETING**

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on September 20, 2023 at the ESC Boardroom, 395 S. Pratt Pkwy., Longmont, Colorado. The Study Session was called to order by Board of Education President Karen Ragland at 6:00 p.m.

## **ROLL CALL**

## **Board Members Present:**

Jim Berthold, Secretary, Director District C
Meosha Brooks, Member, Director District D (Arrived late)
Chico Garcia, Member, Director District G
Sarah Hurianek, Member, Director District F
Dr. Richard Martyr, Treasurer, Director District E
Karen Ragland, President, Director District B
Joie Siegrist, Vice President, Director District A

## **Board Members Absent (Excused):**

None

## St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Jamie Ball, Executive Director of Assessment
Kahle Charles, Assistant Superintendent, Assessment and Curriculum
Todd Fukai, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources
Dr. Don Haddad, Superintendent
Dr. Jackie Kapushion, Deputy Superintendent
Dr. Diane Lauer, Chief Academic Officer
Richard Peebles, Executive Director, Safety and Security
Dina Perfetti-Deany - Area Assistant Superintendent
Kristopher Schuh, Area Assistant Superintendent
Brandon Shaffer, Executive Director of Governmental Affairs, P-TECH

#### **VISITORS**

Jordan Sanchez, Lobbyist, Sanchez Policy Works
Jason Hopfer, Lobbyist, JLH Consulting and Public Affairs

#### **AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION**

None

### AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA

Agenda was accepted as presented.

## **Topics Discussed:**

- Summer Legislative Update
- 2023 Achievement Data/Summer Programming
- General District Operation Topics

No action was taken for the discussion topics above.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Joie Siegrist moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:55 p.m. Meosha Brooks seconded. [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Berthold, Secretary of the Board of Education

Diane Hargash, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Kristie Jonason, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on October 11, 2023.