Board Minutes September 13, 2023 Page 1

MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING

OPENING OF REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on September 13, 2023 at the Educational Services Center Board Room, 395 South Pratt Parkway, Longmont, Colorado. The Regular Meeting was called to order by Board of Education President Karen Ragland at 6:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Jim Berthold, Secretary, Director District C Meosha Brooks, Member, Director District D Chico Garcia, Member, Director District G Sarah Hurianek, Member, Director District F Dr. Richard Martyr, Treasurer, Director District E Karen Ragland, President, Director District B Joie Siegrist, Vice President, Director District A

Board Members Absent (Excused):

None

St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Carrie Adams, Program Director, Silver Creek High School Karla Allenbach, Area Assistant Superintendent Jamie Ball, Executive Director of Assessment Douglas Bissonette, Area Assistant Superintendent Michelle Bourgeois, Chief Technology Officer Matt Buchler, Administrator on Special Assignment Martha Bustillos, Translation and Interpretation Services Coordinator Kahle Charles, Assistant Superintendent, Assessment and Curriculum Greg Fieth, Chief Financial Officer Priscilla Gonzalez, Translation and Interpretation Services Dr. Don Haddad, Superintendent Dr. Jackie Kapushion, Deputy Superintendent Brian Lamer, Assistant Superintendent of Operations Diane Lauer, Chief Academic Officer Fiorella Martinez, Translation and Interpretation Services Timothy O'Neill, General Counsel Richard Peebles, Executive Director of Safety and Security Dr. Dina Perfetti-Deany, Area Assistant Superintendent Kristopher Schuh, Area Assistant Superintendent Hilary Sontag, Executive Director of Advancement and Strategic Partnerships Ana Soto-Harrison, Translation and Interpretation Services

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA (2.0)

None

VISITORS (3.0)

Steve Villarreal, President, St. Vrain Valley Education Association – did not address the Board.

EF TOUR Student Trip Presentation -

Carrie Adams Introduced: Julie Forbes - Teacher (not in attendance) Jen Martin - Parent Max Nacius, CeCe Couch, Carter Martin, Addison Brents, Diamari Flores, Josie Forsberg, Jordan Randal, Jessica Hildebrandt, Abby Frea (not in attendance), Ella Grabham (not in attendance) and Natalise Frea (not in attendance) - students

AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION (4.0)

There were no members of the public who spoke to the board.

SUPERINTENDENT UPDATE (5.0)

Dr. Haddad provided an update on naming of St. Vrain facilities, Town Hall meetings, allocation of additional FTE, strong start to the school year, attendance rate increase, grant program, Leadership St. Vrain, 10-year commemoration of the flood in Lyons, and accreditation highlights.

REPORTS (6.0)

None

CONSENT ITEMS (7.0)

Jim Berthold moved to approve Consent Agenda Items 7.1 through 7.6. Sarah Hurianek seconded.

- 1. Approval: Staff Terminations/Leaves
- 2. Approval: Staff Appointments
- 3. Approval: Minutes for the August 9, 2023 Regular Meeting and August 23, 2023 Regular Meeting
- 4. Approval: Purchase of Vehicles and Equipment
- 5. Approval: Contract for Enterprise Content Management Solution
- 6. Approval: Change Order 2 to Contractor Agreement for Erie High School Scoreboards Project

Dr. Richard Martyr requested additional discussion of Consent Item 7.4 - Purchase of Vehicles and Equipment. Brian Lamer was present to answer additional questions.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

ACTION ITEMS (8.0)

Approval of Accreditation Recommendations for District Schools (8.1)

Meosha Brooks moved that the Board of Education approve the accreditation recommendations for schools within the St. Vrain Valley School District. Chico Garcia seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Approval of Naming the Niwot High School Sports Complex for Art Stapp (8.2)

Jim Berthold moved that the Board of Education approve naming the Niwot High School Sports Complex for Art Stapp, in recognition of his significant contributions and support of the St. Vrain Valley Schools and its athletic programs, including funding the implementation of several modern athletic scoreboards throughout various St. Vrain high schools; sponsoring the Stapp Educator Spotlight; and longstanding regular contributions to annual district events and other school functions. Mr. Stapp passed away July 19, 2023. Meosha Brooks seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Board Minutes September 13, 2023 Page 4

<u>Approval of Naming the Lyons Middle/Senior High School Auditorium for LaVern</u> <u>Johnson (8.3)</u>

Joie Siegrist moved that the Board of Education approve naming the Lyons Middle/Senior High School Auditorium for LaVern Johnson in recognition of her significant contributions to and support of the St. Vrain Valley Schools and the community of Lyons for many years. Ms. Johnson's unwavering commitment and dedication to St. Vrain's students, including her enormous involvement in the scholarship process each year at Lyons Middle/Senior High School, supporting the construction of the auditorium; and helping the district relocate students during the 2013 flood. She has left a permanent impact on all those who knew her, even those who did not. Ms. Johnson passed away on May 14, 2022. Sarah Hurianek seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

DISCUSSION ITEMS (9.0)

None

ADJOURNMENT (10.0)

President Karen Ragland announced that the next Regular Meeting will be held at the ESC Board Room on September 27, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.

Meosha Brooks moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:50 p.m. Jim Berthold seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous acclamation: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Berthold, Secretary of the Board of Education

Diane Hargash, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Kristie Jonason, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on October 11, 2023.