MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING

OPENING OF REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on February 14, 2024 at the Educational Services Center Board Room, 395 South Pratt Parkway, Longmont, Colorado. The Regular Meeting was called to order by Board of Education President Karen Ragland at 6:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Meosha Brooks, Member, Director District D Jocelyn Gilligan, Treasurer, Director District E Sarah Hurianek, Secretary, Director District F Geno Lechuga, Member, Director District G Karen Ragland, President, Director District B Jackie Weiss, Assistant Secretary, Director District A

Board Members Absent (Excused):

Jim Berthold, Vice President, Director District C

St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Karla Allenbach, Area Assistant Superintendent Douglas Bissonette, Area Assistant Superintendent Michelle Bourgeois, Chief Technology Officer Matt Buchler, Administrator on Special Assignment Martha Bustillos, Translation and Interpretation Coordinator Eddie Cloke, Principal, Trail Ridge Middle School Julia Cooper, Principal, Columbine Elementary School Greg Fieth, Chief Financial Officer Todd Fukai, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Priscilla Gonzalez, Translation and Interpretation Services Dr. Don Haddad, Superintendent Laurieann Henderson, Assistant Principal, Skyline High School Dr. Jackie Kapushion, Deputy Superintendent Brian Lamer, Assistant Superintendent of Operations Fiorella Martinez, Translation and Interpretation Services Amber Marsolek, Principal, Alpine Elementary School Quinn O'Keefe, Principal, Fall River Elementary School

Richard Peebles, Executive Director of Safety and Security Dr. Dina Perfetti-Deany, Area Assistant Superintendent Jennifer Piggott, Assistant Principal, Skyline High School Kristopher Schuh, Area Assistant Superintendent Brendon Schwirtz, Assistant Principal, Timberline PK-8 Audrey Seybold, Principal, Timberline PK-8 Brandon Shaffer, Executive Director of Legal and Governmental Affairs Tony Whiteley, Executive Director, Budget and Finance Kenneth Wildenstein, Principal, Rocky Mountain Elementary School

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA (2.0)

None

VISITORS (3.0)

Steve Villarreal, President, St. Vrain Valley Education Association – did not address the Board.

Skyline High School Presentation:

Jocelyn Arredondo Mares, Emilio Gutierrez, Aidan Phelan, Madi Steiner, David Zavala, Abigail Cano, Alisson Martinez Fernandez, Rigo Freeman, Holly Capps, Kiana Garcia, Chloe Turrentine and Alyssa Stewart - students

St. Vrain Valley Schools Legislative Tribute:

Kyle Brown - Colorado State Representative

New Hires:

Todd Fukai introduced Dr. Ann Reed as Principal at LaunchED beginning July 1, 2024

Todd Fukai introduced Mr. Anthony Barela as Principal at Skyline High School beginning July 1, 2024

Todd Fukai introduced Ms. Karen Smith as Principal at Indian Peaks Elementary School beginning July 1, 2024

Todd Fukai introduced Ms. Amy Smythe as Principal at Erie Elementary School beginning July 1, 2024

Todd Fukai introduced Ms. Jennifer Byxbe as Principal at Centennial Elementary School beginning July 1, 2024

Todd Fukai introduced Ms. Anna Mills as Assistant Principal at Soaring Heights PK-8 School beginning July 1, 2024

AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION (4.0)

Amanda Ranard and Melissa Marter were members of the public who spoke to the board.

SUPERINTENDENT UPDATE (5.0)

Dr. Haddad provided an update on the 2023-2024 Meritorious Budget Award, FBLA qualifiers, state championships, state wrestling tournament, iPad refresh, apprenticeship program, Longmont Police Department partnership, salary information, District magazine, Boulder County Commercial Brokers presentation, upcoming bond initiative, and book circulation process.

REPORTS (6.0)

School Safety and Security Report (6.1)

Richard Peebles provided the Board of Education with a report explaining the strategies used in the District to provide an overall safe school environment.

CONSENT ITEMS (7.0)

Meosha Brooks moved to approve Consent Agenda Items 7.1 through 7.13. Jocelyn Gilligan seconded.

- 1. Approval: Staff Terminations/Leaves
- 2. Approval: Staff Appointments
- Approval: Minutes for the January 10, 2024 Regular Meeting, January 17, 2024 Study Session, January 24, 2024 Study Session and January 24, 2024 Regular Meeting
- 4. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Principal at Skyline High School
- 5. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Principal at LaunchED
- 6. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Principal at Centennial Elementary School
- 7. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Principal at Erie Elementary School
- 8. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Principal at Indian Peaks Elementary School
- 9. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Assistant Principal at Soaring Heights PK-8
- 10. Approval: Contract for Professional Services
- 11. Approval: Purchase and Trade-In of Network Products
- 12. Approval: Public Service Company of Colorado Easement Agreement for the Town of Erie County Line Road Roadway Improvements
- 13. Approval: Change Order #2 to Vendor Contract for Innovation Center Cyber Explorer Bus Renovation

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, absent; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

ACTION ITEMS (8.0)

<u>Approval of Request to Grant an Exception to Board Policy GBEA - Staff</u> <u>Ethics/Conflict of Interest - Peterson (8.1)</u>

Sarah Hurianek moved that the Board of Education allow an exception to the current Board Policy GBEA - Staff Ethics/Conflict of Interest. This exception would enable Stephen Peterson, Director of Bands and Professor of Music, Emeritus, whose daughter works for the District, to conduct the Honor Band. Meosha Brooks seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, absent; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

DISCUSSION ITEMS (9.0)

None

ADJOURNMENT (10.0)

President Karen Ragland announced that the next Regular Meeting will be held at the ESC Board Room on February 28, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.

Sarah Hurianek moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:32 p.m. Meosha Brooks seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous acclamation: [Jim Berthold, absent; Meosha Brooks, yes; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, yes].

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Hurianek, Secretary of the Board of Education

Diane Hargash, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Kristie Jonason, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on March 13, 2024