Board Minutes January 10, 2024 Page 1

MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING

OPENING OF REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on January 10, 2024 at the St. Vrain Valley Schools Innovation Center, 33 Quail Rd, Longmont, Colorado. The Regular Meeting was called to order by Board of Education President Karen Ragland at 6:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Jim Berthold, Vice President, Director District C Jocelyn Gilligan, Treasurer, Director District E Sarah Hurianek, Secretary, Director District F Geno Lechuga, Member, Director District G Karen Ragland, President, Director District B

Board Members Absent (Excused):

Meosha Brooks, Member, Director District D Jackie Weiss, Assistant Secretary, Director District A

St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Karla Allenbach, Area Assistant Superintendent Jamie Ball, Executive Director of Assessment Douglas Bissonette, Area Assistant Superintendent Joe Brown, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director, Niwot High School Michelle Bourgeois - Chief Technology Officer Matt Buchler, Administrator on Special Assignment Martha Bustillos, Translation and Interpretation Coordinator Chad Cooper, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director, Erie High School Dr. Sean Corey, Principal, Legacy Elementary Chad Eisentrager, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director, Mead High School Catrina Estrada, Principal, Thunder Valley K8 Greg Fieth, Chief Financial Officer Dr. Russell Fox, Principal, Frederick High School Priscilla Gonzalez, Translation and Interpretation Services Paige Gordon, Principal, SPARK! Preschool

Board Minutes January 10, 2024 Page 2

Josh Griffin, Principal, Erie High School Dr. Don Haddad, Superintendent Dr. Shirley Jirik, Principal, Centennial Elementary Dr. Jackie Kapushion, Deputy Superintendent Brian Lamer, Assistant Superintendent of Operations Fiorella Martinez, Translation and Interpretation Services Joe McBreen, Assistant Superintendent of Innovation Chase McBride, Executive Director of Athletics, Activities and Fine Arts Dr. Kerri McDermid, Chief Communications and Global Impact Officer Liza Nybo, Principal, Coal Ridge Middle School Carole Oliphant, Principal, Prairie Ridge Elementary Timothy O'Neill, General Counsel Richard Peebles, Executive Director of Safety and Security Eric Pierce, Director, IT Service and Support Eric Rauschkolb, Principal, Niwot High School Matt Romig, Assistant Principal, Thunder Valley K8 Kristopher Schuh, Area Assistant Superintendent Tony Whiteley, Executive Director, Budget and Finance Dr. Brian Young, Principal, Mead High School

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA (2.0)

None

VISITORS (3.0)

Steve Villarreal, President, St. Vrain Valley Education Association – did not address the Board.

Frederick High School Feeder Presentation:

Nick Aasmundstad, Lucas Howell, Malia Jeffers, Ruby Jimenez, Evan Quinonez, Mackenzie Bash and Anna Li - students

FY24 Fall Athletics Recognition:

Katie Coleman-Bergmann - Mead High School Girls Lacrosse Coach Connor Bergmann - Mead High School Girls Lacrosse Coach Kelly Christensen, Niwot High School Cross Country Coach Brandon Bird, Erie High School Girls Golf Coach Tom Gambon, Erie High School Assistant Golf Coach Jeff Griger, Erie High School Football Coach

Mead High School Girls Lacrosse Addison Ritzenhein, Niwot High School Girls Individual - Cross Country Niwot High School Girls Cross Country Niwot High School Boys Cross Country Erie High School Girls Golf Erie High School Football

AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION (4.0)

There were no members of the public who spoke to the board.

SUPERINTENDENT UPDATE (5.0)

Dr. Haddad and Dr. Kapushion provided an update on graduation/dropout rate achievements, iReady scores, hiring update, and the Gary Daum Wrestling Invitational.

REPORTS (6.0)

Board of Education Recognition Month (6.1)

Dr. Kapushion recognized the Board of Education with a resolution proclaiming January 2024 Board of Education Recognition Month.

CONSENT ITEMS (7.0)

Jim Berthold moved to approve Consent Agenda Items 7.1 through 7.7. Jocelyn Gilligan seconded.

- 1. Approval: Staff Terminations/Leaves
- 2. Approval: Staff Appointments
- 3. Approval: Minutes for the December 13, 2023 Study Session, December 13, 2023 Regular Meeting and December 20, 2023 Study Session
- 4. Approval: Designated Posting Locations for Notice of 2024 St. Vrain Valley Board of Education Meetings
- 5. Approval: Payment to Symetra Life Insurance Company for Stop Loss Insurance Coverage
- 6. Approval: Purchase of Vehicles and Equipment
- 7. Approval: Aviation Grant for LIDAR Equipment

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, absent; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, absent].

ACTION ITEMS (8.0)

Mill Levy Certification (8.1)

Page 4 Geno Lechuga moved that the Board of Education ratify the certification of the 2023 mill levy rates to the Counties of Boulder, Weld, Larimer and the City and County of Broomfield, and further authorize the Board President to sign the certification documents . Sarah Hurianek seconded.

Board Minutes January 10, 2024

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, absent; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, absent].

Adoption of School Turnaround Unified Improvement Plan (UIP) (8.2)

Jocelyn Gilligan moved that the Board of Education adopt the Priority Improvement School Unified Plan. Jim Berthold seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, absent; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, absent].

DISCUSSION ITEMS (9.0)

None

ADJOURNMENT (10.0)

President Karen Ragland announced that the next Regular Meeting will be held at the ESC Board Room on January 24, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.

Geno Lechuga moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:53 p.m. Jocelyn Gilligan seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous acclamation: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, absent; Jocelyn Gilligan, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Geno Lechuga, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Jackie Weiss, absent].

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Hurianek, Secretary of the Board of Education

Diane Hargash, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Kristie Jonason, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on February 14, 2024.