MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING

OPENING OF REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on May 10, 2023 at the Educational Services Center Board Room, 395 South Pratt Parkway, Longmont, Colorado. The Regular Meeting was called to order by Board of Education President Karen Ragland at 6:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Jim Berthold, Secretary, Director District C Meosha Brooks, Member, Director District D Chico Garcia, Member, Director District G Sarah Hurianek, Member, Director District F Dr. Richard Martyr, Treasurer, Director District E Karen Ragland, President, Director District B Joie Siegrist, Vice President, Director District A

Board Members Absent (Excused):

None

St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Douglas Bissonette, Area Assistant Superintendent Michelle Bourgeois, Chief Technology Officer Matt Buchler, Administrator on Special Assignment Martha Bustillos, Translation and Interpretation Services Coordinator Dr. Russell Fox, Principal, Frederick High School Todd Fukai, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources Priscilla Gonzalez, Translation and Interpretation Services Dr. Don Haddad, Superintendent Dr. Laura Hess, Executive Director of Special Education Dr. Jackie Kapushion, Deputy Superintendent Brian Lamer, Assistant Superintendent of Operations Jeff McMurry, Principal, Longmont High School Timothy O'Neill, General Counsel Richard Peebles, Executive Director of Safety and Security Dr. Dina Perfetti-Deany, Area Assistant Superintendent Kristopher Schuh, Area Assistant Superintendent Ana Soto-Harrison, Translation and Interpretation Services Lance Yoxsimer, Executive Director of Transportation

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA (2.0)

None

VISITORS (3.0)

Steve Villarreal, President, St. Vrain Valley Education Association – did not address the Board.

Superintendent's Excellence in Education Awards

Custodial Department - Ismael Granados, Kelley Davis and Kimberly Murphy

Maintenance/Grounds Department - Dale Bjorhus (not in attendance), Chris Diekman and Don Tomczak

Nutrition Services Department - Patrick Smith and Brenda Hamilton

Transportation Department - Sara Bartleson (not in attendance), Jessica Valdez and Chris Ficuciello

District Secretaries - Lynette Frank and Loretta Hardin

SMART Team Presentation

Kelly Lubkeman and Chris Chou - Smart Team Teachers

Anna Kragerud, Annabelle Poole, Erik Swanson, Lola Trojanovich, Kimberly Hernandez-Delacruz, Selina Nguyen, Sheccid Alcaraz Soto, Tori Fuentez, Abigail Ferguson, Anya Wieder, Izaac Stone, Summer Johnston and Uma Champe - students

New Hires

Todd Fukai introduced Daisha Agho as Assistant Principal at Frederick High School beginning July 1, 2023

Todd Fukai introduced Stephanie Zechmann as Assistant Director of Special Education beginning July 1, 2023

AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION (4.0)

There were no members of the public who spoke to the board.

SUPERINTENDENT UPDATE (5.0)

Dr. Haddad provided an update on participation with LEGO Foundation, St. Vrain's 2nd National Innovation and Leadership Institute in partnership with Colorado Education Initiative, preliminary graduation rate projections, Advanced Placement exams, upcoming graduations, May 31, 2023 Leadership Council meeting Board invite, Convocation event in August, spring sports and activities, retirement dinner, Front Range Community College graduation, LatinX Scholarship dinner, Town CouncilCity Government meetings, meeting with Channel 9 News, negotiations tentative agreement, iReady results, PSAT/SAT make-ups, robotics World Championships and programs, Communications recognition from Colorado School Public Relations Association, Switzerland trip with Careerwise, assessed valuation and property tax tracking, Project Launch and Accreditation and Accountability committee.

REPORTS (6.0)

None

CONSENT ITEMS (7.0)

Jim Berthold moved to approve Consent Agenda Items 7.1 through 7.10. Meosha Brooks seconded.

- 1. Approval: Staff Terminations/Leaves/Non-Renewal
- 2. Approval: Staff Appointments
- 3. Approval: Minutes for the April 12, 2023 Regular Meeting, April 19, 2023 Study Session, April 26, 2023 Study Session and April 26, 2023 Regular Meeting
- 4. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Assistant Principal at Frederick High School
- 5. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Assistant Director of Special Education
- 6. Approval: Recommendation to Hire Assistant Director of Special Education
- 7. Approval: Purchase of Cisco DNA Enterprise Agreement and Hardware
- 8. Approval: Purchase and Installation of Combi-Multi Cook Ovens
- 9. Approval: Change Order to Construction Manager/General Contractor (CMGC) for Mead Elementary Classroom Addition Project
- 10. Approval: Contract Award for the Erie High School Scoreboards Project

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

ACTION ITEMS (8.0)

<u>Approval of Second Reading and Adoption to Board Policy ADD - Safe Schools</u> (8.1)

Meosha Brooks moved that the Board of Education adopt updates to Board Policy ADD (Safe Schools). Sarah Hurianek seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Approval of Second Reading and Adoption to Board Policy GCO - Evaluation of Licensed Personnel (8.2)

Dr. Richard Martyr moved that the Board of Education adopt updates to Board Policy GCO (Evaluation of Licensed Personnel). Jim Berthold seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

<u>Approval of Second Reading and Adoption to Board Policy JLCDC* - Medically</u> <u>Necessary Treatment in School Setting (8.3)</u>

Jim Berthold moved that the Board of Education adopt updates to Board Policy JLCDC* (Medically Necessary Treatment in School Setting). Dr. Richard Martyr seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

DISCUSSION ITEMS (9.0)

None

ADJOURNMENT (10.0)

President Karen Ragland announced that the next Regular Meeting will be held at the ESC Board Room on May 24, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.

Sarah Hurianek moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:11 p.m. Joie Siegrist seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous acclamation: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Berthold, Secretary of the Board of Education

Diane Hargash, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Kristie Jonason, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on June 14, 2023.