Board Minutes February 9, 2022 Page 1

MINUTES ST. VRAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT RE-1J BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING

OPENING OF REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Education of the St. Vrain Valley School District met on February 9, 2022 at the Educational Services Center Board Room, 395 South Pratt Parkway, Longmont, Colorado. The Regular Meeting was called to order by Board of Education President Joie Siegrist at 6:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Jim Berthold, Secretary, Director District C Meosha Brooks, Member, Director District D Chico Garcia, Member, Director District G Sarah Hurianek, Member, Director District F Dr. Richard Martyr, Treasurer, Director District E Karen Ragland, Vice President & Assistant Secretary, Director District B Joie Siegrist, President, Director District A

Board Members Absent (Excused):

None

St. Vrain Valley School District Staff Present:

Eddie Cloke, Principal, Trail Ridge Middle School Catrina Estrada, Principal, Thunder Valley K8 Greg Fieth, Chief Financial Officer Todd Fukai, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources James Garcia, Principal, Rocky Mountain Elementary Mike Green, Assistant Principal, Skyline High School Dr. Don Haddad, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Jackie Kapushion, Deputy Superintendent Brian Lamer, Assistant Superintendent of Operations Dr. Diane Lauer, Assistant Superintendent, Priority Programs and Academic Support Amber Marsolek, Principal, Alpine Elementary Kerri McDermid, Chief Communication & Global Impact Officer Kerin McClure, Principal, Timberline PK8 Quinn O'Keefe, Principal, Fall River Elementary

Board Minutes February 9, 2022 Page 2

Timothy O'Neill, General Counsel Richard Peebles, Executive Director of Safety & Security Dr. Dina Perfetti-Deany, Area Assistant Superintendent Julie Read, LaunchEd Assistant Program Director Heidi Ringer, Principal, Skyline High School Lynsey Robinson, Assistant Principal, Trail Ridge Middle School Audrey Seybold, Principal, Columbine Elementary Connie Syferd, LaunchED Program Director Sandra Vazquez, Elementary Literacy Coordinator

AMENDMENTS TO THE AGENDA (2.0)

None

VISITORS (3.0)

Steve Villarreal, President, St. Vrain Valley Education Association - did not address the Board.

Lizette Duran, Carly Davis and David Zavala - students

AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION (4.0)

Melissa Popp, a member of the public, spoke to the Board.

SUPERINTENDENT UPDATE (5.0)

Superintendent Don Haddad reported on school visits, student, teacher & school achievements, telecommunication program, robotics programs, grants awarded to St. Vrain, Human Resources Department hiring update, student growth, and COVID data.

REPORTS (6.0)

Skyline High School Student Advisory Council Feeder Report (6.1)

Dr. Dina Perfetti-Deany introduced Heidi Ringer, Skyline High School Principal, Skyline feeder Principals, Eddie Cloke, Kerin McClure, Amber Marsolek, Audrey Seybold, Quinn O'Keefe, James Garcia, Skyline High School students Lizette Duran, Carly Davis and David Zavala. The Skyline High students shared an informative presentation featuring highlights of the Skyline High School feeder.

CONSENT ITEMS (7.0)

Dr. Richard Martyr moved to approve Consent Agenda Items 7.1 through 7.5, 7.7, and 7.9. Karen Ragland seconded. Consent Items 7.6, 7.8 and 7.10 were pulled for further discussion.

- 1. Approval: Approval of Staff Terminations/Leaves
- 2. Approval: Approval of Staff Appointments

- 3. Approval: Approval of Minutes for the January 12, 2022 Regular Meeting, January 26, 2022 Study Session and January 26, 2022 Regular Meeting
- 4. Approval: Approval of Recommendation to Hire Principal at LaunchED
- 5. Approval: Approval of Recommendation to Hire Assistant Principal at Thunder Valley K8
- 6. Approval: Approval of Academic Calendar Revisions to 2012-2022, 2022-2023, and 2023-2024 School Years
- 7. Approval: Approval of Pedestrian and Utility Easement with Town of Frederick
- 8. Approval: Approval of Contract Award for Legacy Elementary Tile Roof Replacement
- 9. Approval: Approval of Resolution for Frederick High School Mascot Change
- 10. Approval: Approval to Extend Charter School Contracts

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Consent Item 7.6: Diane Lauer answered questions from the Board. Meosha Brooks moved that Consent Item 7.6 be approved. Karen Ragland seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Consent Item 7.8: Brian Lamer answered questions from the Board. Dr. Richard Martyr moved that Consent Item 7.8 be approved. Jim Berthold seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Consent Item 7.10: Greg Fieth answered questions from the Board. Dr. Richard Martyr moved that Consent Item 7.10 be approved. Sarah Hurianek seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

ACTION ITEMS (8.0)

Acceptance of 2021 Single Audit Report (8.1)

Meosha Brooks moved that the Board of Education accept the FY2021 Single Audit Report. Chico Garcia seconded.

The auditor issued a clean, unmodified opinion on the compliance for major federal programs.

Board Minutes February 9, 2022 Page 4

The motion carried by unanimous roll call vote: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

DISCUSSION ITEMS (9.0)

None

ADJOURNMENT (10.0)

President Joie Siegrist announced that the next Regular Study Session will be held at Career Elevation Technology Center on Wednesday, February 16, 2022, at 6:00 p.m.

Sarah Hurianek moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:24 p.m. Karen Ragland seconded.

The motion carried by unanimous acclamation: [Jim Berthold, yes; Meosha Brooks, yes; Chico Garcia, yes; Sarah Hurianek, yes; Dr. Richard Martyr, yes; Karen Ragland, yes; Joie Siegrist, yes].

Respectfully submitted,

Jim Berthold, Secretary of the Board of Education

Diane Hargash, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Kristie Jonason, Executive Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Read and approved or corrected and approved on March 9, 2022.