Longmont Community Foundation honors graduating seniors

The Longmont Community Foundation handed out six St. Vrain Valley Community Service Awards and seven various scholarships Monday afternoon to college-bound high school seniors from the Longmont area.

The awards honored various traits from community service to musicianship to athleticism to commitment to extracurricular activities and academic success.

"The work you've done not only benefits you as an individual ... but the work you are doing is crucial to our success as a community," Don Haddad, the superintendent of St. Vrain Valley School District, said to the gathering of students and about 30 supporters at the Xilinx Retreat Center in Longmont.

There were also six scholarships awarded, with one of the scholarships, the Brad Miller Memorial Scholarship, being awarded to two recipients, and with one student being honored twice.

Read the full story at the Times-Call >>


St. Vrain Valley Community Service Awards

Kate Berreman, Lyons Middle/Senior High School

Kathryn Biesiada, Niwot High School

Kristian Brubaker, Silver Creek High School

Dylan Dufour,Frederick High School

Emily Calzolari, Mead High School

Geya Kairamkonda, Niwot High School

Longmont Community Foundation scholarship recipients

Brad Miller Memorial Scholarship

Dylan Dufour, Frederick High School

Kyle Kolanowski, Frederick High School

Stewart Golden Music Scholarship

Matthew Dillon of Lyons Middle/Senior High School

Madeline Marie Molzahn Sherrod Memorial Scholarship

Madeline Luehr, Wood River High School

Catherine C. Owen Scholarship

Savannah Drotar, Lyons Middle/Senior High School

Philip McClelland Scholarship

Jonathan Schlagel, Berthoud High School

Dr. Jack and Margaret Beynon Memorial Scholarship

Andrew Parker, Frederick High School

Geya Kairamonda, from Niwot High School, recieves a St. Vrain Valley Community Service Award from Marjorie Weibel, scholarship and donor relations specialist, during the Longmont Community Foundation 2015 scholarship and community service awards ceremony in Longmont on Monday (Matthew Jonas / Staff Photographer)